DAILY PROMPT: FAR FROM HOME

Tell us about the farthest you’ve ever traveled from home.

Ok, I’m gonna try this daily prompt thing so here’s my first entry.

The farthest I’ve ever been from home? That would be Dubai, U.A.E.

Dubai had been my home for 7.5 years. It’s where I’ve known how to work, how to build relationships with different kinds of people, and how I became the person that I am today.

I am now back in the Philippines and ofcourse I am happy to be back home. Sometimes, though, I miss working abroad. I miss the stress, the manner of communicating in the english language at work, the stress, the work, the sense of security. Ofcourse, the monetary compensation is a plus but what I miss most is the feeling of independency. That feeling of being able to make decisions on your own.

People think that working abroad makes you hard and, i guess “detached” is an appropriate word but really, it doesn’t. It just makes you stronger.

You see, to live and to work elsewhere, you have to be able to learn how to speak up, to stand on your own two feet and to be responsible in your own actions. You grow and you mature, tremendously.

In our culture, the old and the wise might see that as a negative effect to a person’s behavior but, truth be told, in this day and age, it’s a step towards understanding that the world is so much bigger and so much deeper than we all know it is. And I feel extremely blessed that I was given the chance to work for 7.5 years in a foreign land where it has taught me the value of respecting other people’s beliefs, culture and religion. 

